RSS Feed

Indelible by Dawn Metcalf

Posted on

Am I the only one who felt like summer reading might actually kill her this year? I’m not? Good. Next year, it’s the job of the entire universe to remind me not to have crafts at my final party. Oh, the prep work. The hours and hours of prep work.

However, I have managed to get a little summer reading of my own squeezed in! Mostly late at night, holding my smartphone under the covers and reading egalleys on my Kindle app when I’m supposed to be sleeping. Hello, 12-year-old self with flashlight! I’m channeling you. I’d like to jump start this languishing blog with a little Reader’s Advisory post.

Indelible

by Dawn Metcalf

Harlequin Teen, ISBN-10 0373210736, $9.99 paperback, July 2013

Some things are permanent.

Indelible.

And they cannot be changed back.

Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future…and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

I enjoyed Indelible. It’s your typical “faerie creatures are dark, dangerous, and unpredictable” set up overall, but the world building is rather deep for a teen romance. Ink’s job is to go around placing invisible marks on humans that label them as property of a particular fae creature, and he accidentally marks Joy as his own. He can’t lift the mark, and he can’t admit to making a mistake. Indelible Ink is more a tool of faerie-kind than his own person. He and his sister Invisible Inq (I know, kinda precious) were made for their work, not born, and if they mess up, they could be deemed obsolete and lose their jobs, which is equivalent to losing their lives.

Ink is stuck with Joy, Joy is stuck with Ink (and Inq, by extension, who’s sometimes fun, sometimes irritating, sometimes a bit scary.) Joy helps Ink learn that he has his own mind and feelings, and Ink introduces Joy to a crazy, dangerous, amazing world she never knew existed, while spurring her to deal with her own anger and sorrow over some considerable family drama. He did try to stab her in the eye, but since he’s really a non-person when that happens, I don’t feel like she wound up with a scary eye-stabbing abuser in the end.

To buy or not to buy: Buy, unless you’re fresh out of teen patrons looking for more paranormal romance.

Recommend to: Fans of Melissa Marr, Cyn Balog, Holly Black, etc. Paranormal romance fans.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: