RSS Feed

Zoo Storytime

Posted on

WOW, am I ever behind on posting. Well, things happen. Anyway.

This week’s storytime was all about zoos! I love the zoo. I love the zoo more than anywhere else ever. Sometimes I’m not sure why I decided to move somewhere so far from all the zoos in the world, but here I am. A lot of the kids here have not been to a zoo; when I asked who had seen a zoo and who had not, it was split about 50/50.

We read:

Roar and More by Karla Kuskin

Making animal noises for the win!

My Heart is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall

Adorable rhyming text with illustrations made almost entirely of heart shapes for the win!

From Head to Toe by Eric Carle

Mimicking animal movements for the win! (And I made sure to tell the children that if they do go to a zoo and see a gorilla, they should NOT thump their chests at him. Gorillas do NOT appreciate it.)

Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

Writing to the zoo for a pet and getting totally unsuitable animals for the win! Plus, lift the flap!

The Mixed-Up Chameleon by Eric Carle

Hilarious mixture of animal parts for the win! (I did not read this one in conjunction with Monkey Face. Too similar.)

Extension Activities

“You Can Hear” (Tune: She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain)
You can hear the lions roaring at the zoo, ROAR ROAR!
You can hear the lions roaring at the zoo, ROAR ROAR!
You can hear the lions roaring, you can hear the lions roaring,
You can hear the lions roaring at the zoo, ROAR ROAR!
(Snakes hissing, bears growling, wolves howling, frogs croaking, zebras braying)

Source: Storytime Katie

“Zoo” (Tune: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush)

Here we go to the zoo in the park, the zoo in the park, the zoo in the park;

Here we go to the zoo in the park so early in the morning.

This is the way the elephant walks, the elephant walks, the elephant walks;

This is the way the elephant walks so early in the morning.

This is the way the big bear walks, the big bear walks, the big bear walks;

This is the way the big bear walks so early in the morning.

This is the way the kangaroo hops, the kangaroo hops, the kangaroo hops;

This is the way the kangaroo hops so early in the morning.

This is the way the penguin walks, the penguin walks, the penguin walks;

This is the way the penguin walks so early in the morning.

Source: Reading is Fundamental

Flannelboard

For my first session, I used a flannel set we already had that basically involves naming an animal’s color and making its sound. However, I already had an animal sound book AND song, and it felt too repetitive, so I went trolling for an alternative and came across an awesome pattern based on the book Monkey Face by Frank Asch at Rachel Moani.

474520_10151603511302206_771310340_o 472698_10151603511117206_1700236864_o

I don’t know who had more fun with this story: me, the children, or the parents. Probably me. Anyway, we all laughed pretty hard.

Craft

We made incredibly cute lions out of cupcake liners like these at Creating Really Awesome Free Things.

How It Went:

Maybe these kids haven’t been to the zoo, but by golly, they have awesome lion roars. Everything went over very well, especially the flannel board, and there were more terrific books in this kit that I didn’t even use. I can’t wait to come back for seconds, mostly because I really, really like talking about elephants. The big zoo animal favorite among the storytimers was the giraffe, which I can see. When I was a kid, I really wanted to have a pet giraffe, and to name him Jeffrey. As an adult, I sometimes struggle to keep up with my dogs, so I’m glad that whole giraffe thing never worked out for me. I’m sure their rabies vaccinations are quite expensive, and they do slobber heavily.

The end!

Leave a Reply

