RSS Feed

Emotions Storytime

I’m back with a new storytime write up! Last week, I re-used last year’s plan for Colors storytime, so I didn’t bother to blog it. This week, we all got in touch with our inner selves with some songs and stories about emotions.

Our letter for the week was E. I explained we would talk about emotions, then asked, “Who knows what an emotion is? Has anyone heard about emotions before?” They did not know, so I explained, “Emotions is another word you can use for feelings. If you’re happy, or sad, or angry, or scared, those are all feelings or emotions.” They caught right on at that point. Everyone knows what feelings are. They’re those things that are constantly getting hurt!

We read:

How Do Dinosaurs Say I’m Mad? by Jane Yolen

If you’re not aware of this great series by the multi-talented Yolen, who writes for all ages, it works like this: The narrator asks how a dinosaur does something, like go to school or take care of a pet. Then the narrator asks if the dinosaur does all the bad things that might be associated with that action. In this case, does a dinosaur throw things and yell when he’s mad? The questions are asked in snappy verse. Finally, the narrator will say, NO! and explain how our good dinosaur does the right thing–in this case, count to ten, take a timeout, and say sorry if he did act up while he was upset. Each page pictures human parents with to-scale dinosaurs acting up as though they were little children. After I read this book, I asked the kids if it’s okay to be mad. We talked about how we can’t always help getting angry, but we can express that anger in constructive ways. Obviously I used much smaller words with the kids, though.

Concept: Appropriate expression of emotion

My Friend is Sad by Mo Willems

Elephant and Piggie! Gerald is sad, so Piggie tries to cheer him up by dressing as a cowboy, a clown, and a robot. Each time, Gerald just gets sadder. In the end, we find out he was sad because he thought Piggie was not there to see all of those cool acts with him, but now he is happy because Piggie is with him. Aw!

Concept: Cause and effect of emotion

 

 

If You’re Happy and You Know It by Jan Ormerod

This book starts off with the traditional hand-clapping, but when a passle of exotic creatures and one dog get in on the action, tails wag, teeth snap, and we all shout “Yahoo!” In the end, the girl in the story realizes that she can express her happiness in her own way, and so can everyone else. Having the kids act the book out with you adds an extra layer of fun and interaction.

Concept: Expression of emotion

We sang:

When I Feel Happy

When I feel happy, my face looks like this! (big smile)
When I feel happy, my face looks like this!
When I feel happy, so clap-clap happy, (clap)
When I feel happy, my face looks like this! (big smile)

Cry-cry sad, stomp-stomp mad, wiggle-wiggle silly, hide-hide scared, and so on

Credit: Me!

That Happy Feeling (Tune: I’ve Got the Joy)

Suit motions to song.

I’ve got that happy feeling here in my heart,
here in my heart, here in my heart.
I’ve got that happy feeling here in my heart,
here in my heart to stay.

I’ve got that happy feeling here in my hands,
here in my hands, here in my hands.
I’ve got that happy feeling here in my hands,
here in my hands to stay.

I’ve got that happy feeling here in my feet,
here in my feet, here in my feet.
I’ve got that happy feeling here in my feet,
here in my feet to stay.

I’ve got that happy feeling here in my legs,
here in my legs, here in my legs.
I’ve got that happy feeling here in my legs,
here in my legs to stay

I’ve got that happy feeling here in my arms,
here in my arms, here in my arms.
I’ve got that happy feeling here in my arms,
here in my arms to stay.

I’ve got that happy feeling all over me,
all over me, all over me.
I’ve got that happy feeling all over me,
all over me to stay.

Source: Charles County Public Library

Craft: Paper Plate Emotion Masks

We made very simple masks like these from No Time for Flash Cards. Although they are simple, they’re very fun. I had the kids make a happy side and a sad or mad side. Then they could say, “When I get to go outside, I feel like this!” and hold up the happy side, and so on.

How It Went: We ran about two minutes shorter than usual because I didn’t do a flannel board. Sure, it’s easy to whip up a felt set of different facial expressions, but since we were already looking at so many pictures of them and singing about feelings while acting them out, it seemed like overkill. Because of the snow, I had small turnouts, only 7 kids per session. I wish more had been able to make it, because all the wiggling and giggling in this plan went down very well with the ones who did show up!

At one point, one of my regulars said, “Miss Jacki, I just observed something.” (She always talks like that.) I said, “Yes?” and she said, “That dinosaur has polka dots, just like on your shirt!” I was indeed wearing a polka dotted sweater, and the dinosaur on the page in question did indeed have perfectly round spots, although they weren’t exactly polka dots. Early pattern recognition! Another regular who used to call me “Libwawian” has now started trying to call me by name, but she’s missing a syllable. She calls me “Miss Jack.” I figure, close enough for now. Right?

Next week, we’ll be talking about size differences with Big and Small storytime!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

